Distinguished Service Award Committee

MARAC's Distinguished Service Award Committee is a standing committee established by a vote of the membership at the Fall 2005 MARAC Business Meeting.

Mission and Goals

The purpose of the Committee is to recognize members who have made significant contributions to the organization as well as to the greater archival profession. It is the responsibility of the Committee to publicize the award, and to encourage MARAC members to submit nominations for the award.


The Committee reviews the nominations submitted by the membership and determines the award recipient. The Committee does not have to make an award if in their collective judgment the individuals nominated do not meet the criteria. Nominations and letters of support must be received by the Committee Chair by January 31 each year.

The Committee Chair will inform the award recipient in advance to encourage attendance at the upcoming Spring Meeting, where the award will be given, as well as the MARAC chair and award sponsors, but there will not be a public announcement until the conference business meeting.

The award recipient receives $250, sponsored by Hollinger Metal Edge.


Nominations can be made by any MARAC member by submitting the form found on the Distinguished Service Award page. The form should be returned to the committee chair no later than January 31. Any member wishing to make a nomination is strongly encouraged to provide additional letters of support for the nomination, which may be sent along with the nomination form or under separate cover to the Committee Chair. In addition, the nominee's resume (or curriculum vita) and a letter detailing why the nominee should receive the award should also be submitted to the Committee Chair.


The Distinguished Service Award Committee consists of four members: the immediate past MARAC Chair, who serves as the Committee Chair; two individuals elected by the membership for two-year staggered terms; and the MARAC Archives Coordinator, who serves as a non-voting ex-officio member.

The Committee Chair reports to the Chair of the Awards Committee and also serves on that committee to share information and coordinate activities with the chairs of the other awards committees.


Contact the Distinguished Service Award Committee Chair, Jessica Webster at [email protected]

Members Term Ends
Jessica Webster, Chair Summer 2025
Cheryl Stadel-Bevans Summer 2026
Rejoice E. Scherry Summer 2025
Lauren Brown, Historian ex-officio


Last revised July 2024