MARAC Finding Aids Award Committee

The Finding Aids Award Committee was established by a vote of the membership at the Spring 1982 MARAC Business Meeting. The C. Herbert Finch Online Publication Award was established to honor the memory of C. Herbert Finch, former Assistant Director of Cornell University Libraries, who died on April 27, 2005.

Mission and Goals

The purpose of the Committee is to recognize outstanding achievement in the preparation of finding aids by institutions within the MARAC region or by MARAC members and to promote improvements in this area of archival work by drawing attention to characteristics of successful finding aids. The other purpose of the Committee is to recognize high quality in the creation of online publications. It is the responsibility of the Committee to publicize the Finding Aid Awards and the C. Herbert Finch Award and to solicit entries from the membership.


Entries for these awards are reviewed independently by the Committee members and the results are sent to the Committee Chair. The Committee usually conducts its work by email or telephone although the Committee Chair may convene a meeting should it be necessary to reach agreement on the awards. The awards are decided by a majority vote of the Committee members. Committee members affiliated with an institution that submits entries for the awards should abstain from voting on the submission.

Entries for the awards are judged on a variety of criteria, including scholarship, relevancy, innovation, quality of writing, and presentation and layout. Finding Aids Awards are presented at the Spring MARAC Business Meeting and C. Herbert Finch Awards are presented at the Fall MARAC Business Meeting.

See a list of previous Finding Aid Award winners


The Committee consists of six members who each serve for a term of three years. Two are elected each year by the MARAC membership. The elected member receiving the most votes becomes the Junior Co-chair of the Arline Custer Committee in their second year of service. The Junior Co-chair shall become the Senior Co-chair in their third year of service. The MARAC Chair shall fill any vacancies on the Committee.

The Senior Co-chair of the Committee reports to the Chair of the Awards Committee and also serves on that committee to share information and coordinate activities with the chairs of the other awards committees.


Last revised June 2016


Maureen Callahan - Senior Co-Chair
(Spring 2015-Spring 2016)
Archivist, Metadata Specialist
Manuscripts and Archives
Yale University
P.O. Box 208240
New Haven, CT 06520


Scott Ziegler -Junior Co-Chair
(Spring 2015-Spring 2016)

Assistant Head of Technology/Web Development Librarian
American PhilosophicalSociety
105 South 5th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106


TEL: 215-599-4299

Caitlin Goodman (Spring 2015-Spring 2018)

Curator, Rare Book Department
Free Library of Philadelphia
1901 Vine Street, 3rd floor
Philadelphia, PA 19103





TEL: 215-686-5416

Jennifer King
(Spring 2015-Spring 2018)

Manuscripts Librarian
George Washington University
Gelman Library
Special Collections
Suite 704
2130 H. Street NW
Washington DC 20052


TEL: 202-994-0628

Casey Babcock
(Spring 2014-Spring 2016)

Project Archivist
Stephan Archives
The Bunn Library
The Lawrenceville School
P.O. Box 6128
2500 Main Street
Lawrenceville, NJ 08648


TEL: 609/895-2108

 Cara Griggs
(Spring 2014-Spring 2016)

Reference Archivist
Library of Virginia
800 East Broad Street
Richmond, VA 23219





TEL: 804/692-3596