MARAC Distinguished Service Award Committee

MARAC's Distinguished Service Award Committee is a standing committee established by a vote of the membership at the Fall 2005 meeting.


Mission and Goals
The purpose of the Committee is to recognize members who have made significant contributions to the organization as well as to the greater archival profession. It is the responsibility of the Committee to publicize the award, and to encourage the membership to submit nominations for the award.


Members of the Distinguished Service Award Committee consists of four members:  the immediate past MARAC Chair, who serves as the Committee's chair, two members elected by the membership for one-year terms and the MARAC Archives Coordinator who serves as a non-voting ex-officio member.

The Committee reviews the nominations submitted by the membership and determines the award recipient. The Committee does not have to make an award if in their collective judgment the individuals nominated do not meet the criteria. Nominations and letters of support must be received by the Committee Chair by January 26 each year.

The committee chair will inform the award recipient to encourage attendance at the upcoming spring conference, where the award will be given, as well as the MARAC chair and award sponsors, but there will not be a public announcement until the conference business meeting.

The award recipient receives $250, sponsored by Hollinger Metal Edge.


Nominations can be made by any MARAC member by submitting the Distinguished Service Award Nomination form.  The form should be returned to the committee chair no later than February 12, 2016. Any member wishing to make a nomination is strongly encouraged to provide additional letters of support for the nomination, which may be sent with the nomination form or under separate cover to the committee chair.  In addition the nominee's resume (or curriculum vitae) and a letter detailing why the nominee should receive the award should also be submitted to the committee chair.

Last revised February 2016



John LeGloahec, Chair

(Spring 2015-Spring 2016)

Archives Specialist
National Archives and Records Administration
Electronic Records Division
5703 Greenleaf Road
Cheverly , MD 20785

TEL: 301/641-3425

Lauren Brown - MARAC Archives Coordinator (ex-officio)
Archives & Mss. Department
Hornbake Library, University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742



TEL: 301/405-9059


L. Rebecca Johnson-Melvin
(Spring 2015-2016)

Librarian and Head, Manuscripts and Archives Department
University of Delaware Library
181 South College Avenue
Newark, DE  19717-5267

TEL: 302/831-6089

Fernanda Perrone 
(Spring 2015-2016)

Archivist and Head, Exhibitions Program
Special Collections and University Archives
Rutgers University Libraries
169 College Avenue
New Brunswick, NJ 08901-1163

TEL: 848/932-6154